Five RSE Fellows have been included in The New Year Honours 2022 to mark their extraordinary achievements and services.

We would like to extend our warmest congratulations to the five RSE Fellows included in The New Year Honours 2022; including recently elected Fellowship Secretary, Professor Zoe Shipton. The honours system recognises people who have made achievements in public life and committed themselves to serving and helping the UK.

View the full New Year Honours list on the UK Government website.

Members of the Order of the Companions of Honour

Paul Nurse wearing a suit and tie smiling and looking at the camera

Sir Paul Maxime NURSE FRSE, HonFRSE

For services to Science and Medicine in the UK and Abroad

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Anne Magurran standing in front of a body of water

Professor Anne Elizabeth MAGURRAN FRSE

Professor of Ecology and Evolution, Centre for Biological Diversity and the Scottish Oceans Institute, University of St Andrews.

For services to Biodiversity

Norman Murray wearing a suit and tie


Lately Chairman, Scottish Ballet.

For services to the Arts

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

Steven Osborne looking at the camera

Steven George McNeil OSBORNE FRSE


For services to Music

Zoe Shipton smiling at the camera

Professor Zoe Kai SHIPTON FRSE

Professor of Geological Engineering, University of Strathclyde.

For services to Geoscience and Climate Change Mitigation