Seven Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh are among the newest Fellows elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences.

In total, 59 influential biomedical and health scientists have been elected in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the advancement of biomedical and health science, cutting edge research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society.

Those RSE Fellows elected as Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences this year are:

A person standing in front of John M. Ball et al. posing for the camera
Professor Sir John Ball PFRSE and Professor Dame Anne Johnson DBE PMedSci | © Stewart Attwood Photography 2023

Professor Dame Anne Johnson DBE PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said:

These new Fellows are pioneering biomedical research and driving life-saving improvements in healthcare, from understanding the spread of infectious diseases to developing mental health interventions. It’s a pleasure to recognise and celebrate their exceptional talent by welcoming them to the Fellowship.

This year, we are celebrating our 25th anniversary. The Fellowship is our greatest asset, and their broad expertise and dynamic ability has shaped the Academy to become the influential, expert voice of health. As we look to the future, the collective wisdom our new Fellows bring will be pivotal in achieving our mission to create an open and progressive research sector to improve the health of people everywhere.