The RSE offers its congratulations to the following Fellows who were recognised in the Queen’s 2019 New Year Honours:

Professor Michael Anthony John FERGUSON CBE FRS
Regius Professor of Life Sciences and Academic Lead for Research Strategy, University of Dundee.
For services to Science.

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire
Lately Chief Executive Officer, Virgin Money.
For services to Financial Services and Women in the Financial Industry.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire
Professor Robert BARTLETT FBA, FRSE
Emeritus Professor of Medieval History, University of St Andrews.
For services to History.

For services to Music.

Professor Iain MCINNES
Muirhead Professor of Medicine and Director, Institute of Infection, Immunity and Inflammation, University of Glasgow.
For services to Medicine.

Diana Mary MURRAY
Chair, Arts and Business Scotland.
For services to the Cultural and Historic Environment in Scotland.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire
Professor Ian John DEARY FBA FRSE
Professor, Differential Psychology and Director, Centre for Cognitive Ageing and Cognitive Epidemiology, University of Edinburgh.
For services to the Social Sciences.

Margaret Anne, Baroness FORD
For services to Sport and Business.

Professor Raffaella OCONE
Professor of Chemical Engineering, Heriot-Watt University.
For services to Engineering.

Professor Jonathan Robert SECKL
Moncrieff Arnott Professor of Molecular Medicine, and Vice Principal, Planning, Resources and Research Policy, University of Edinburgh.
For services to Endocrinology.

Member of the Order of the British Empire
Lately Principal and Chief Executive, West College Scotland.
For services to Further Education and the community in the West of Scotland.

The full honours list is available here.