Elected: 2016
Discipline: Earth Sciences and Chemistry
Professor Sharon Ashbrook
Professor of Physical Chemistry, University of St Andrews
Professor Sharon Ashbrook joined the University of St. Andrews in 2005 and became Professor of Physical Chemistry in 2013. Her research concerns the development and application of NMR spectroscopy to understand local structure of solid materials. She was one of the first members of the RSE Young Academy of Scotland having become a member in 2011. Sharon is heavily involved in outreach with local schools, through both the RSE and as Chair of the Tayside Local Section of the Royal Society of Chemistry. She has been honoured with several prizes, including the prestigious RSE Sir Thomas Makdougall Brisbane Medal in 2012 and the Royal Society of Chemistry Corday-Morgan Prize for 2015, given to the best chemist in the UK aged under 40.