Elected: 2001
Discipline: Economics and Social Sciences
Professor Alexander Kemp
Director, Aberdeen Centre for Research in Energy Economics and Finance (ACREEF), University of Aberdeen
Alexander G. Kemp is currently Professor of Petroleum Economics and Director of Aberdeen Centre for Research in Energy Economics and Finance (ACREEF) at the University of Aberdeen. He was formerly Lecturer, Senior Lecturer and Reader. He previously worked for Shell, the University of Strathclyde and the University of Nairobi. For many years he has specialised in his research in petroleum economics with special reference to licensing and taxation issues and has published over 200 papers and books in this field. He has been a consultant on petroleum contracts and legislation to a large number of Governments, the World Bank, the United Nations, various oil companies, the European Commission, the UK Know-How Fund and the Commonwealth Secretariat. He was a specialist adviser to the UK House of Commons Select Committee on Energy from 1980 to 1992 and also in 2004 and 2009. He is an editorial adviser to a number of energy and other academic/professional journals. From 1993 to 2003 he was a member of the UK Government Energy Advisory Panel. In May 1999, Professor Kemp was awarded the Alick Buchanan-Smith Memorial Award for personal achievement and contribution to the Offshore Oil and Gas Industry. He is Director of Aberdeen University Petroleum and Economic Consultants (AUPEC) which provides consultancy services in petroleum economics. He was awarded the OBE in 2006 for services to the oil and gas industries. He was a Member of the Council of Economic Advisers to the First Minister of the Scottish Government from 2007-2011. In June 2011 Professor Kemp was appointed a member of the Scottish Energy Advisory Board to the Scottish Government. He has written “The Official History of North Sea Oil and Gas” which was published in 2011 in 2 volumes. In March 2012 Professor Kemp received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Society of Petroleum Engineers Offshore Achievements Award ceremony.