Elected: 2016
Discipline: Professional, Educational and Public Sector Leadership
Mrs Diana Murray
Chair, Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS)
After studying archaeology at Cambridge University, Diana Murray has devoted her career to Scottish cultural heritage. Until 2015 she was Chief Executive of the Royal Commission on the Ancient Monuments of Scotland and Joint CEO of Historic Scotland. She is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London, an Honorary Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland and a Fellow of the Royal Geographic Society of Scotland. She was also an Honorary Fellow of the School of History, Classics and Archaeology at the University of Edinburgh
She has extensive experience of governance in the charity sector. She was for many years a non-executive director of the National Trust for Scotland. She is currently a Trustee of the Royal Botanic Garden of Edinburgh, the Scottish Seabird Centre in North Berwick, and the Scottish International Education Trust
She has been the Chair of Arts and Business Scotland since 2016 and, in 2019, was appointed to the Chair of the Scottish Association of Marine Science (SAMS), an academic partner institute of the UHI.