Elected: 1999
Discipline: Engineering
Professor Julian David Clayton Jones OBE FRSE

Vice-Principal and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Heriot-Watt University.

Professor Julian Jones brings a breadth of executive and non-executive governance experience: as Deputy and Vice-Principal, Heriot-Watt University; recent Institute of Physics Treasurer; RSE Council member; Director, OptoSci Ltd; former Chair, Board of Directors, IOP Publishing; and policy experience including the Scottish Science Advisory Council and UK Defence Scientific Advisory Council.